Our Patron

Rt.Hon. Lord Llewellyn of Steep, OBE
British Ambassador to France

Edward Llewellyn (Lord Llewellyn of Steep) became British Ambassador to France on 9 November 2016.

Before joining the Embassy, he was the Downing Street Chief of Staff under former Prime Minister David Cameron (2010-2016) and his Chief of Staff as Leader of the Opposition (2005-2010).

Lord Llewellyn started his career in 1988 in the Research department of the Conservative Party. In 1992, he worked as an adviser to Governor Chris Patten in Hong Kong, and then in the office of the High Representative in Sarajevo in 1997.

He worked with Chris Patten again in Brussels from 1999 when the latter was appointed European Commissioner for Foreign Affairs. In 2002, he returned to Sarajevo as Chief of Staff to the High Representative, Lord Ashdown.

A francophone, Ed Llewellyn is married to Anne, herself a French national, and they have 3 young children. In 2016, he was appointed Lord Llewellyn and became a member of the House of Lords.



Julia Kett read law at the University of Wales before qualifying as a solicitor at the City law firm Allen & Overy. She spent many years in France and now divides her time between Herefordshire and Paris. She has always supported the British community, serving on the committees of the British and Commonwealth Women’s Association and the Paris Decorative and Fine Arts Society, of which she was a founder member. She became a trustee of the BCF in 1994 and has been Chairman since 2001.



The British Charitable Fund Paris is a UK charitable trust, working internationally. The BCF is administered and managed by its board of fifteen trustees, listed below.

Each trustee has spent many years living in France and gives their time and expertise as a close-knit team to fulfil the BCF’s aims and objectives. We carry out all aspects of the charity’s work, ensuring that the charity is well and efficiently run, while keeping costs to a minimum.  We employ just one assistant and are grateful to the Hertford British Hospital Charity for providing us with our offices in France.

Julia Kett – Chairman
Jonathan Eastwood

Frances Meadows
Douglas Anderson
George Bauermeister

Kim Borel
Kate Hart
Pamela Conger
Jonathan Goatly
Richard Hallows

Julia Howes
Dr. Gunita Jolly-Paul
Shirley Jones
Caroline Smith
Alison Tardivel, MBE
Anne Boit – Assistant to the board